Skip to main content

White has Marple Newtown in the running

By 27 October, 2009August 23rd, 2012No Comments

By John Lohn, Delaware County Daily Times
October 27, 2009

Barring a surprising slide down the stretch, Marple Newtown will qualify for the District One Class AAA playoffs. One of the reasons for that impending berth is Ryan White.

As the Tigers blanked Upper Darby last week, 23-0, White ran for 203 yards and a touchdown on only 13 carries and added 22 yards and a touchdown on two receptions. For that effort, he was named Central League MVP at Monday night’s weekly meeting of the Delaware County Football Coaches Association, held at Moe’s Grille.

Other weekly honors went to:

Positional MVPs: Quarterback: Andre Pergolese (Haverford); Running Back: Ryan White (Marple Newtown); Receiver: Dexter Bridge (Conestoga); Offensive Line: Julian DiGiacomo (Garnet Valley); Kevan Strigle (Marple Newtown); Dan Mills (Penncrest); Defensive Line: Greg Gruschow (Conestoga); Linebacker: Matt Moriarty (Haverford); Defensive Back: Ryan White (Marple Newtown); Specialist: Matt Bundy (Penncrest).

Honorable Mention: Quarterback: Kevin Johnson (Marple Newtown);Colin Masterson (Ridley); Running Back: Mike Clancy (Haverford); Marcellus Irving (Garnet Valley); Matt Craig (Springfield); Thurman Fortune (Strath Haven); Ryan Duffy (Marple Newtown); Receiver: Matt Bundy (Penncrest); Keith Stewart (Haverford); Offensive Line: Chris Nelson (Conestoga); Tom Parent (Conestoga); Zach Bissey (Haverford); Nick Hober (Ridley); Defensive Line: Eric Dunn (Haverford); Rob Crispin (Ridley); Nick felton (Upper Darby); Billy Weaverling (Marple Newtown); Linebacker: Mike Moretti (Penncrest); Dave Pennoni (Haverford); Amara Kamara (Upper Darby); Phil Barbieri (Penncrest); Niyi Adewole (Upper Darby); Defensive Back: Vince Christiana (Marple Newtown); Dion Shaw (Ridley); Specialist: Seb Kamyab (Conestoga); Dan Acchione (Garnet Valley); Connor MacNeal (Garnet Valley); Thomas Obi Tabot (Garnet Valley).