Skip to main content

BROOMALL, PA – The 2007 Marple Newtown Football Team Banquet took place the at beautiful Paxon Hollow Country Club on Sunday, January 27th, 2007. This event was sponsored by the Tigers Football Boosters Association.

Awards were given, the team highlight film was shown, and former Tiger football great Steve Coyne presented the first annual Steve Coyne Special Teams Award.

The year’s recipient of the Brian “Woody” Peoples Memorial Scholarship was senior SE/DB Ed Arnold.

Senior DE Pete Massaro, and the future Penn State Nittany Lion was honored for his accomplishment of earning a spot on the AP AAA Pennsylvania All-State team (second-team).

TigersCast was on hand to catch all of the action including speeches given by coaches and players along with the presentation of various awards. Enjoy.
Coach Mike Doyle presents the Most Improved Player Award to senior OT/DT Jay Trio

Coach Mike Doyle presents the Offensive MVP Award to senior RB John Gallagher

Coach Lou D’Alonzo presents the George Schmitt Defensive MVP Award to junior LB Dan Giordano

Ron Luongo, from the Marple Newtown Football Alumni Association Inc., speaks about his experiences at Marple Newtown and introduces the keynote speaker, Steve Coyne (included is Head Coach Ray Gionta’s introduction of Ron Luongo)

Steve Coyne, Tiger football alum and a Marple Newtown Athletics Hall of Fame Inductee, delivers the keynote banquet address

Coach Lou D’Alonzo presents the Steve Coyne Special Teams MVP Award to senior RB/LB/P Sam Hafez

Coach Steve Cull presents the Most Dedicated Player Award to senior QB/DB Steve Giordano

Coach Nick Reynolds presents the Outstanding Lineman Award to senior OT/DE Pete Massaro

Coach Ray Gionta presents the Team Most Valuable Player Award to senior FB/DB John Rutecki

Outgoing captains John Rutecki and Pete Massaro reflect on the season and their careers at Marple Newtown

Coach Ray Gionta announces the captains of the 2008 Marple Newtown Football Tigers – Dan Giordano, Phil Graziano and Steve Reynolds