Skip to main content

Marple Newtown High School will honor seven former athletes, a multi-sport head coach, the members of two championship teams and the coaching staffs of a pair of title-winning teams at its 2012 Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony, which will take place Thursday, Oct. 4, at Penn Oaks Golf Club.

The newest members of the Hall of Fame include football players Ed Clark and Karl Chandler, swimmer Paul Trevisan, Cindy Meehan Carpenter and Judy Mahaffey Busby, who played field hockey, basketball and lacrosse, and Amy Ziegenfuss Kowalsky and Ashlee Dardine Eckert, who played field hockey and lacrosse.

Ray Johnston, who coached baseball and basketball, will be honored as well as the members of the 1971 football coaching staff (head coach Harry Miller and assistants Jim Maiale, Bob Kenig, Fred McKonly and Bo Buoni), and Wendy Smith (head coach) and Cathy Long (assistant) from the 1999 field hockey coaching staff.

Clark was an All-Delco end at Marple Newtown who played under coach Tubby Raymond at the University of Delaware. He was a member of the Blue Hens’ 1972 national championship team, was a Kodak All-America and played in the World Football League.

Chandler played at Princeton University after his days at Marple Newtown, then played in the NFL for the New York Giants (three seasons) and Detroit Lions (two seasons) as an offensive lineman.

Trevisan was an All-American swimmer at Marple Newtown who earned a scholarship to East Carolina University, where he was Southern Conference champion in the 50 and 100 freestyle races and set several school and league records. As a Senior Olympics competitor, he has set eight national records in freestyle and individual medley competition.

Meehan Carpenter helped Marple Newtown win two Central League field hockey championships and one league title in lacrosse. At Penn State University, she played on two national championship hockey teams.

Mahaffey Busby also was a member of a pair of field hockey teams that earned the Central League title and also played for two Penn State national championship teams. She was a member of the All-America first team and played for the United States Olympic Development team.

Ziegenfuss Kowalsky was an All-Delco field hockey player who helped Marple Newtown to two Central League championships and also played for two lacrosse teams that claimed the Central League title. She helped James Madison University qualify for the NCAA Field Hockey Tournament four times and was a hockey coach at Villa Maria Academy, Bishop Shanahan High and Mount St. Joseph Academy.

Dardine Eckert was an All-Delco field hockey and lacrosse player. She helped Marple Newtown win the 1999 District One Class AAA field hockey title. She earned All-Delco honors in lacrosse at Marple Newtown and was a lacrosse All-American at James Madison University.

Johnston won eight Central League championships in 32 years as Marple’s head baseball coach and had one Central League title as girls basketball coach. He received the Lou Bonder Award nine times (male sports) and the Vera Egner Award five times (female sports) as Marple Newtown Coach of the Year.

The 1971 varsity team was the first Marple Newtown football team to win the Central League championship, while the 1987 girls lacrosse team had an 18-0-1 record, won the Central League and District One/State titles, and had 10 of its 12 starters go on to play Division I lacrosse.

The Marple Newtown High School Administration and Marple Newtown High School Athletic Hall of Fame Committee request your presence at the 2012 Hall of Fame Banquet and Induction Ceremony.

• Golf 12:30 – Callaway Tournament – Shotgun Start $100/person (includes Greens Fee, Cart & Range Fee).

• Dinner 6:30 – Cocktail Hour, Dinner Banquet, Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, $50/person.

Reservation Forms can be found on and returned to: Mr. Jim Allsman, 1800 Earlington Rd. Havertown, Pa. 19083. Please contact Dennis Reardon, MNHS athletic director with any questions at 610-359-4231 or