Skip to main content

The Marple Newtown Football Boosters hosted the annual year-end banquet on Sunday at Rolling Green Golf Club.  All members of the 2012 Tiger football team were honored, including the presentation of several awards.

Former Tiger and Penn State Nittany Lion, Pete Massaro, was on-hand to present the MVP Award.  The award will now be known as the “Pete Massaro Most Valuable Player Award”.  Massaro talked about perseverance  the desire to achieve in the classroom and athletic field and the importance of listening & learning from coaches and teachers.

Assistant Coach Lou D’Alonzo was recognized for his ten years of service to the program.  D’Alonzo, who joined the program in 2003, was presented with a plaque and gift certificate.

Corey Power was named the Massaro MVP winner and the George Schmitt Defensive MVP.  Power was named second-team All-Delco for defense, and second-team All-Central for offense and defense.  Corey finished the season with 93 tackles (second most since 2003), 4.5 sacks and 10 tackles for a loss.

Joe Vegso is the recipient of the 2012 Woody Peoples Memorial Scholarship.   The senior co-captain had 63 tackles, returned a fumble for a touchdown and intercepted a pass.  Offensively, Joe hauled in 21 passes for 328 yards and two touchdowns.

Anthony Rosanio was named the Chris Gicking Offensive MVP.  Rosanio gained 906 yards on 156 carries, with 7 touchdown runs.  Anthony also served as the Tigers kick & punt returner, netting 1,146 all-purpose yards on the season.

Senior co-captain Craig Hamilton received the Jim Smith Most Dedicated award. Hamilton caught five passes for 72 yards on the season as a tight end.  Craig’s ability as a run blocker helped produce over 2,000 yards rushing for Tiger backs.

Kevin Rafferty was named the recipient of the Bob Koenig Coaches Award.  The senior lineman finished second on the team in sacks (2.5) to go along with 15 tackles and 3.5 tackles for loss.  Rafferty also started on the Tigers offensive line and special teams.

Andrew McHale was the Most Improved Player.  McHale’s contributions on offense and defense were invaluable for the Tigers in 2012. Andrew posted 23 tackles on defense, and helped the Tigers offensive line control the line of scrimmage.

Tigers kicker Nick Pezzotti received the Steve Coyne Special Teams MVP.  Pezzotti, who also stars on the soccer team, handled the placekicking and kickoff duties for the Tigers.  Nick was 1-for-1 on field goal attempts (37 yards), and 23 for 28 on PAT attempts.

Senior lineman Ed Graham was named the Bill Maas Outstanding Lineman for 2012.  Graham was a key cog in making the Tigers offense go in 2012, and made five tackles (1 TFL) on defense.

 [slideshow id=45]