Skip to main content

The Hero Bowl, the annual Delaware County High School All-Star Football Game, will be played on Thursday, May 28th, 2015 at Cardinal O’Hara High School in Springfield, PA. The game benefits the Hero Scholarship Fund of Delaware County to provide scholarships for children of police, firefighters and emergency personnel who have lost their lives in the line of duty.

Four Tigers have been selected to represent Marple Newtown in the 39th Annual Hero Bowl: Adrian Sapnas (RB), Vince Ciavardelli (DL), Dom Talluto (OL), and Lucas Maas (DB).

This year, the Hero Bowl committee decided to rearrange the teams as follows:

Team 1: Garnet Valley , Chester, Ridley, Episcopal Academy, Cardinal O’Hara, Chichester, Marple Newtown, Radnor, Harriton, Glen Mills, and Penncrest

Team 2: Haverford , Upper Darby, Delco Christian, Penn Wood, Haverford School, Academy Park, Interboro, Springfield, Bonner-Prendie, Strath Haven and Sun Valley

In years past, the West team is comprised of players from the Central Athletic and Inter-Ac Leagues; while the East Team was made up of players from the Del Val and Catholic Leagues. Last year the East Team won, 27-6.

Marple Newtown Head Coach Chris Gicking and assistant coach Mike Willard will serve as an assistants under Head Coach Tony Beatty of Chester High School.

Tickets ($5) are available at all Delaware County fire houses and police stations and will be sold at the gate on game night. Pre-game activities will begin at 7 PM. Kick-off is scheduled 7:30 PM.

If you can’t make it to the game, Jim Allsman and Steve Reynolds of the Tigers Radio Network will provide coverage via the Marple Newtown Football Twitter account, @MNTigers.

For more information on the Hero Bowl and the Hero Scholarship Fund, please visit