Skip to main content

NEWTOWN SQUARE, PA – Nine members of the Marple Newtown Tiger football program earned All-Delco honors for the 2017 season. First teamers included senior QB Anthony Paoletti, senior WR Dash Dulgerian and junior RB Marlon Weathers.

Second team: Alden Mathes (WR) and Kyle Tobin (DL).

In addition, the following Tigers were All-Delco honorable mention selections for the 2017 season: 

Below was posted by Matt Smith via on Decmeber 6th, 2017:

First Team

QB — Anthony Paoletti, Senior, Marple Newtown

The two-time All-Delco and record-breaking quarterback battled through a litany of injuries this season. While his overall statistics suffered at times, Paoletti’s drive, determination and reputation as the best quarterback in Delco never waned. As one Central League rival coach bluntly stated: “Paoletti was the best quarterback, period.” Although he had competition from the likes of Penn Wood’s Desman Johnson Jr., Haverford High’s Jake Ruane and Springfield’s Jack Psenicska, all of whom garnered serious first team consideration, Paoletti showed on a weekly basis why he was — with sore knee, banged-up shoulder and all — the cream of the crop at his position. Paoletti shattered Marple Newtown coach Chris Gicking’s longstanding county record for most passing yards in a career, finishing with 6,944 yards. That record-breaking effort came one year after Paoletti became the single-season passing champion with 2,793 yards. In his senior year, Paoletti threw for a county-leading 2,263 yards to go with 21 touchdowns and a 54.2 completion percentage. His 308 passing attempts were, by far, the most in Delco. Paoletti, who earned Mini Maxwell Award honors for his excellence on the field and in the classroom, will continue his career at the University of Delaware.

RB — DeeWil Barlee, Jr., Episcopal Academy
RB — Danny Guy, Sr., Garnet Valley

RB — Marlon Weathers, Junior, Marple Newtown

Weathers triggered his inner beast-mode down the stretch, turning a so-so junior season into an excellent one. His performance late in the regular season and in the playoffs helped the Tigers return to the District 1 Class 5A semifinal round for the second year in a row. Weathers was the leading rusher in Delco with 1,544 yards and 21 touchdowns. He racked up 6.1 yards per carry and posted back-to-back efforts of 250-plus yards on the ground. In the Tigers’ first-round postseason victory over Oxford, Weathers carried the team with 258 yards and four touchdowns. In three playoffs contests, Weathers accrued 484 yards and six TDs.

WR — Dash Dulgerian, Senior, Marple Newtown

For the second season in a row, Marple Newtown is the home of Delco’s leading receiver. Dulgerian finished 32 yards from tying the county’s single-season receiving record of 1,266 yards previously set in 2000 by Strath Haven great Josh Hannum. The senior did, however, become the county’s all-time record holder in catches in a single season with 82, breaking All-Delco and former teammate Abel Hoff’s record of 72 in 2015. It’s not a coincidence, of course, that arguably the best wide receivers in the county — Hoff, Dulgerian and 2016 All-Delco Cameron Mathes — all played alongside the top quarterback in the land, Anthony Paoletti. This season Dulgerian had 82 receptions for 1,234 yards and seven touchdowns. In the Tigers’ season-opening loss in Florida, Dulgerian became the first Delco receiver in five years to amass more than 200 yards in a game.

WR — Kennedy Poles, Jr., Penn Wood
OL — Lee Holbert, Sr., Strath Haven
OL — Colin Hurlbrink, Sr., Haverford School
OL — Adam Klein, Sr., Episcopal Academy
OL — Tom Mahoney, Sr., Garnet Valley
OL – Derek Strain, Sr., Springfield
AP – Julz Kelly, Jr., Sun Valley
SP – James Silvi, Sr., Episcopal Academy

Second Team

QB — Jake Ruane, Jr., Haverford
RB — Zach Hussein, Sr., Strath Haven
RB — Matt Lassik, Sr., Garnet Valley
RB— Kamal Richardson, Sr., Ridley
WR — Alden Mathes, Jr., Marple Newtown
TE — Jon Ricci, Sr., Garnet Valley
OL — Esso Adigwe, Sr., Garnet Valley
OL — Jake Erley, Sr., Garnet Valley
OL — Dan Pennestri, Sr., Springfield
OL — Ryan Rockenbach, Jr., Episcopal Academy
OL — Christan Weber, Sr., Ridley
AP — Josh Gouch, Sr., Upper Darby
SP — Jason Rose, Sr., Garnet Valley

First Team

DL — Cade Brennan, Sr., Garnet Valley
DL — Tyric Gould, Sr., Cardinal O’Hara
DL — Derrick Korboi, Sr., Upper Darby
DL — Justin Shields, Sr., Springfield
LB — Pat Clemens, Jr., Springfield
LB — Milton Mamula, Sr., Episcopal Academy
LB — Ja’Den McKenzie, Sr., Springfield
DB — Nasir Greer, Sr., Upper Darby
DB — Kyle Long, Sr., Springfield
DB — Jordan Mosley, Sr., Haverford
DB — Dahmir Ruffin, Sr, Arch. Carroll
AP — Rahiem Bowens, Sr., Penn Wood

Second Team

DL — Richard Moore, Sr., Upper Darby
DL — Griffin Salus, Sr., Garnet Valley
DL — Kyle Tobin, Sr., Marple Newtown
LB — Luke Gutowski, Sr., Delco Christian
LB — Cody Profitt, Sr., Chichester
LB — Sean Crowley, Sr., Ridley
LB — Eugene Sheppard III, Jr., Penn Wood
DB — Trey Blair, So., Haverford
DB — Jermal Martin, Sr., Academy Park
DB — Justin Santilla, Sr., Cardinal O’Hara
DB — Rashaad Shaw, Sr., Chichester
AP — Taseer Jones, Sr., Cardinal O’Hara

Honorable Mention

Quarterback: Skylor Fillis (Academy Park), Desman Johnson Jr. (Penn Wood), Jack Psenicska (Springfield).

Running Back: Kareem Burton (Academy Park), Nate Holmes (Academy Park), Devan Freeman (Chester), Jalen Mitchell (Delco Christian), Quadir Gibson (Glen Mills), Joe Forte (Interboro), Kalie Kuyateh (Interboro), Phil Shovlin (Springfield), Caliph Jones (Sun Valley).

Receiver: Carlon Brown (Archbishop Carroll), Kyrin Jackson (Bonner & Prendergast), Luke Cantwell (Marple Newtown), Frank Durham Jr. (Springfield), James Gines (Sun Valley).

Offensive Line: Billy Martin (Academy Park), Ryan Pham (Academy Park), Anthony Warnick (Archbishop Carroll), Mike Killian (Bonner & Prendergast), Tom Wertz (Cardinal O’Hara), Tyler Van Eerden (Delco Christian), Mike McFillin (Episcopal Academy) Harry Riley (Episcopal Academy), Kyle McCullough (Garnet Valley), Ryan Shomo (Garnet Valley), Anthony Zizza (Interboro), Ronald Goodwin (Penn Wood), Kevin Hahn (Marple Newtown), Mike Shelly (Marple Newtown), Anthony Laudicina (Radnor), Tom Bramwell (Ridley), Shane Luedtke (Sun Valley), Mike Williams (Upper Darby).

All-Purpose: Lahneir McBride (Chester), Andre Dean (Chichester), Jack Bush (Episcopal Academy), Caleb Mahalik (Penncrest), Ociele Miller (Ridley), Thomas Foster (Strath Haven).

Specialist: Kevin Calamita (Cardinal O’Hara), Ryan Meyer (Ridley), Jack Coary (Springfield), Emmet Young (Strath Haven).

Defensive Line: Bryson Roberts (Academy Park), Richie Kimmel (Archbishop Carroll), Tylee Williams-Clark (Chester), Jack Purcell (Episcopal Academy), Josh Ciarrocchi (Garnet Valley), Adam Oldrati (Garnet Valley), Pat Boyle (Haverford), Tim Campli (Haverford), Asim Richards (Haverford School), Mike Moore (Interboro), Davee Rush (Penn Wood), David Rush (Penn Wood), Dan Bark (Ridley), Joe Spillman (Ridley), Kevin Deal (Springfield).

Linebacker: Azeez Badmus (Academy Park), Cameron Blair (Cardinal O’Hara), Aasim Muhammad (Chester), Matt Bush (Episcopal Academy), Zachary Shankle (Garnet Valley), Jon Klee (Haverford), Bryant Leschak (Haverford), Ryan Doughty (Interboro), Brett McLaughlin (Interboro), Luke Jelus (Marple Newtown), Chris Chelo (Penncrest), John Cosgrove (Penncrest), Jeff Biancaniello (Springfield), Kyle Addis (Radnor), Ethan Belville (Strath Haven), Ryan Morris (Strath Haven), Charlie Wendling (Sun Valley), Justin O’Donnell (Upper Darby).

Defensive Back: Rasheed Coles (Academy Park), Devon Golds (Academy Park), Josh McCalister-Afflick (Cardinal O’Hara), Rafique Hilliard (Chester), Malcolm Folk (Episcopal Academy), Adam Robinson (Episcopal Academy), Kevin Doherty (Garnet Valley), Nate Whitaker (Haverford School), Chris Mills (Penncrest), Edmund Dennis (Penn Wood), Alimamy Thollie (Penn Wood), Jack Spence (Springfield), Jihaad McDonald (Upper Darby).