Skip to main content

NEWTOWN SQUARE, PA – Eleven members of the Marple Newtown Tiger football program earned All-Delco honors for the 2016 season. First teamers included junior QB Anthony Paoletti and senior WR Cameron Mathes.

Second team: Dash Dulgerian (WR), Cooper Maas (DL), and Carmen Christiana (DB).

In addition, the following Tigers were All-Declo honorable mention selections for the 2016 season: Marlon Weathers (RB), James Diamond (OL), Reilly Fillman (SP), Luke Cantwell (LB), Mike Miller (DL) and Kyle Tobin (DL).

Below was posted by Matt Smith via on Thursday, Decmeber 15th, 2016:

First Team

QB — Anthony Paoletti, Jr., Marple Newtown

The junior quarterback became the county’s single-season passing leader by breaking Ridley grad Dennis Decker’s record of 2,737 yards. Paoletti threw for 2,793 yards and 25 touchdowns en route to leading the Tigers to a share of the Central League title for the first time since 1977 and a berth in the District 1 Class 5A semifinals. The All-Central League selection has 4,681 career passing yards, 1,216 short of tying Marple Newtown head coach Chris Gicking’s school and Delco record of 5,897. Paoletti is garnering interest from several programs including Harvard, Columbia, Duke, Boston College, Connecticut, Purdue and Temple.

RB — Dazhon Miller, Sr., Academy Park
RB — Chris Thomas, Sr., Interboro
RB — Mallik Twyman, Sr., Haverford School
WR — Cameron Mathes, Sr., Marple Newtown

The senior wide receiver, who will play baseball at Villanova, was the lone player from Delaware County to eclipse the 1,000-yard receiving plateau. With 50 catches for 1,027 yards and eight touchdowns, Mathes became the fifth Delco player since 2000 to amass 1,000 receiving yards in a season. He caught the game-winning touchdown in overtime against West Chester East to move the Tigers (11-3) to the District 1 Class 5A championship.

WR — Jordan Mosley, Sr., Haverford High
OL — Quentin Frangeli, Sr., Interboro
OL — Des Holmes, Sr., Cardinal O’Hara
OL — Chad Hrivnak, Jr., Garnet Valley
OL — John Sheldon, Sr., Ridley
OL — Chris Thomas, Sr., Academy Park
AP — Brock Anderson, Sr., Ridley
SP — Jacob Buttermore, Sr., Garnet Valley

Second Team

QB — Tommy Toal, Sr., Haverford School
RB — Joe Hartley-Vittoria, Sr., Bonner & Prendergast
RB — Ja’Den McKenzie, Jr., Springfield
WR — Ishy Ahmad, Sr., Sun Valley
WR — Dash Dulgerian, Sr., Marple Newtown
TE — Kyle Virbitsky, Sr., Episcopal Academy
OL — Harrison Doane, Sr., Radnor
OL — Adam Klein, Jr., Episcopal Academy
OL — Peter Solomon, Sr., Haverford School
OL — Zach Wagner, Sr., Ridley
OL — Alex Yao, Sr., Garnet Valley
AP — Tommy O’Hara, Sr., Cardinal O’Hara
SP — Kyran Baker, Jr., Ridley

First Team


DL — Rob Monachello, Sr., Garnet Valley
DL — Togba Porte, Sr., Academy Park
DL — Justin Shields, Jr., Springfield
DL — Kenny Ngaima, Sr., Penn Wood
LB — Jack Farrell, Sr., Haverford
LB — Ryan Gricco, Sr., Ridley
LB — Brian Snow, Sr., Episcopal Academy
DB — Connor Adams, Sr., Interboro
DB — Joe Kennedy, Sr., Springfield
DB — Jermal Martin, Jr., Academy Park
DB — Justin Santilla, Jr., Cardinal O’Hara
AP — Teddy Wright, Sr., Academy Park

Second Team

DL — Tyric Gould, Jr., Cardinal O’Hara
DL — John Harrar, Sr., Strath Haven
DL — Amara Kenneth, Sr., Academy Park
DL — Cooper Maas, Sr., Marple Newtown
LB — Dom Bertone, Sr., Garnet Valley
LB — Charlie Coslett, Sr., Garnet Valley
LB — Edward Fields III, Sr., Penn Wood
DB — Shane Beckwith, Jr., Interboro
DB — Carmen Christiana, Sr., Marple Newtown
DB — Aaron Hudson, Sr., Haverford School
DB — Greg Tamaccio, Sr., Springfield
AP — Malik Young, Sr., Ridley

Honorable Mention

Quarterback: Taylor Moors (Academy Park), Stephen Honick (Archbishop Carroll), Jamir Green (Chester), Nick Juliano (Garnet Valley), Jake Ruane (Haverford), Cade Stratton (Ridley), Johnny Fanelli (Springfield), Gabe Boccella (Sun Valley), Nate Rimel (Upper Darby).

Running Back: Devan Freeman (Chester), Matt Lassik (Garnet Valley), Quadir Gibson (Glen Mills), Marlon Weathers (Marple Newtown), Caleb Mahalik (Penncrest), Answered Gleplay (Penn Wood), Zach Newlon (Strath Haven), Quentin West (Sun Valley).

Receiver: Shymere Stroud (Academy Park), Jay Smiley (Archbishop Carroll), Alex Coll (Bonner & Prendergast), Braheem Bishop (Chester), Chris Trainor (Haverford), Rahiem Bowens (Penn Wood).

Offensive Line: Dan Kemp (Academy Park), Jaion Smith (Academy Park), Ryan Harlow (Cardinal O’Hara), Colin Hickey (Cardinal O’Hara), Tom Wertz (Cardinal O’Hara), Mike Rinick (Chichester), Eric Weah (Chichester). Jake Gutowski (Delco Christian), James Bagnell (Episcopal Academy), Dallas Taylor (Episcopal Academy), Joey D’Antonio (Garnet Valley), Brandon Gurn (Glen Mills), Cameron Brooks (Interboro), Mike MacMillan (Interboro), James Diamond (Marple Newtown), Matt Rigolizzo (Radnor), Jack Hutt (Ridley), Lee Holbert (Strath Haven), Tim Brooks (Sun Valley).

All-Purpose: Tom Millison (Bonner & Prendergast), CJ McAnally (Episcopal Academy), Nate Murtha (Interboro), Nasir Greer (Upper Darby).

Specialist: Colin Ravert (Interboro), Connor Ringwalt (Episcopal Academy), Reilly Fillman (Marple Newtown), Dan Coary (Springfield), Emmet Young (Strath Haven).

Defensive Line: Mike Larsen (Bonner & Prendergast), Stephon Brown (Cardinal O’Hara), Montez Spearman (Cardinal O’Hara), Milton Mamula (Episcopal Academy), Joe Thomas (Garnet Valley), Bomani Branson (Glen Mills), Nick DiIorio (Haverford), Colin Hurlbrink (Haverford School), Asim Richards (Haverford School), Manny Obaseime (Interboro), Mike Miller (Marple Newtown), Kyle Tobin (Marple Newtown), Fatin Cooper (Penn Wood), Isaiah Coates (Radnor), Joe Spillman (Ridley), Kevin Deal (Springfield), Derek Strain (Springfield), Obadiah Asare (Upper Darby), Derrick Korboi (Upper Darby)

Linebacker: Azeez Badmus (Academy Park), Hunter Raigin (Bonner & Prendergast), Jamir Redd (Cardinal O’Hara), Luke Gutowski (Delco Christian), Shane Donegan (Garnet Valley), Mike Romanofsky (Haverford), Kalie Kuyateh (Interboro), Luke Cantwell (Marple Newtown), Kyle Addis (Radnor), Sean Crowley (Ridley), Pat Clemens (Springfield), Dwayne Snipes (Springfield), Dave Strawley (Springfield), Ryan Morris (Strath Haven), James Gines (Sun Valley), Charlie Wendling (Sun Valley), Richard Tougeekay (Upper Darby)

Defensive Back: Khadir Roberts (Archbishop Carroll), Dhamir Roberts (Archbishop Carroll) Brandon Bettole (Bonner & Prendergast), Jack Gibson (Cardinal O’Hara), Andre Dean (Chichester), Dee Wil Barlee (Episcopal Academy), Chris Rushton (Episcopal Academy), Denny Nealon (Garnet Valley), John Klee (Haverford), Matt DiSands (Interboro), Allen Martin (Ridley), Thomas Foster (Strath Haven), Mekhi Hill (Strath Haven), Kalil Brown (Upper Darby).